Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Florida pd's

Hey got a question for you guys...

I am a cop in NYC for 3.5 years now and am looking to make the move fromNY to FL. I just sent down my app to Ft Lauderdale because they do laterals and they dont require the CJBAT scores.

Ques #1: If somebody on here has done a lateral from another department can they let me know what the process is like and how long it takes to get hired?

Ques #2: Are there any other departments in FL that dont require those test scores and will take my academy training?

Ques#3: What other departments are hiring right now that I could look into because i am looking to take a leave of absence in August and make the move to FL? Or are there any jobs that i could look into in the meantime?

Brother, look through this section a bit. This question comes up at least once a week.

First of all, it's not a "lateral" move. You'll be starting over at the bottom.

Before you waste any more time dropping applications, get your certification out of the way first.

Google or search for "Chipola" college here. It's been discussed about 7349 times this past year alone. Get a hold of your training/ academy records and send them down to Chipola. They'll evaluate you and waive the academy. Then you'll have to fly down and spend 5 days in a "high liability" course, which is nothing more than EVOC, firearms training, first aid and defensive tactics. Once you complete the week, sign up for the state exam. Take it, pass it and BAM, you're certified.

THEN, start applying.

The state is pumping out thousands of certified applicants each month. No one is gonna even look your way if you're not state certified. They won't spend a dime on you to get certified, especially when the majority of the applicants now are applying in droves WITH a state certification.

So, do yourself a favor and get certified before you do anything else. It's not a hard process, nor is it really time consuming.