300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• NYPD officer looking to go to florida

Hey guys i have a question. Im a cop in nyc and im planning on moving to FL. Im interested in orlando or sanford. does anyone know how i can transfer if its possible or can direct me to the people i would have to contact. thanks in advance

if you are not obligated to those areas I would look southeast florida. Thats where the money is and more of your fellow NYPD guys and us Jersey cop guys all over here. PM me if you need any help Ill give you all the info I can

Comment

There is no such thing as a transfer from out of state. You gotta get certified first, then apply, then go through the entire application process, hiring process and eventually onto field training.

I came from a NY State agency upstate and other than the EOT, I started over from the bottom of the barrel.

I would also look at the gulf coast agencies. Better salaries than the Atlantic coast, generally.

Comment

Hey Guys, I'm looking to make the move from NY to as well...

I understand that I have to get a waiver and pass the state exam in order to avoid the "entire" academy (or something like that - I have over 10 years of police experience).

Can anyone explain the process in detail - do i have to get into the hiring process with an agency or can I do this on my own...?

I'll take any help/tips I can get...

Comment

You can do it on your own. Google or search for here "Chipola" college. Get a hold of your training records and mail them down to them. They'll evaluate you and send you a form back blessing off on your training. You use that form and sign up for the EOT course, which can range from 1 week to 6. You finish the course, which is super easy and take the state exam. You pass it and bam, you're certified. THEN, apply to agencies.

Do a little research here in this section and you'll find TONS of info on the EOT training.

Comment

Originally posted by Unit453 View Post