300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Need some advice

I graduated with my B.A./B.S. last year. As of yet I have been unable to secure a sponsorship. Im not sure which direction to go. I know people who have had trouble getting LEO jobs even after they get certified in academy. I have a clean background, never used drugs, I dont drink, I have never been in any trouble, I speak a few languages. Only downside is that I don't have a military background due to being medically disqualified from the military. The market sucks and I know that getting certified won't guarantee a job. Im taking the gre to go to grad school but I would much rather start working. I guess a few grad courses coudln't hurt. Well there's my situation. Any advice is appreciated.

Also need to mention that Im located in orlando, so if there's any officers that are willing to give me ride alongs, or if there is any volunteer work available, Id be happy to help out.

Ive been trying for Law enforcement for a long time now. Its pretty hard to get into even with military and a degree. my suggestion is to just keep applying and someones gonna find your worth. It seems like departments want to hire but keep laying off more officers, so new guys are having problems getting in. grad school wouldnt hurt either. Just a question though, would you be a able to get a LE job if you cant be cleared medically in the military? the qualifications medically are pretty similar. just curious. Good luck

Comment

I had to sponsor myself through the academy and get state certified here BEFORE I got hired. Agencies around here are looking for people who are already certified so they don't have to pay for the academy. Not sure if it's the same there or not.

Comment

Originally posted by usmcSMASH View Post