Leader

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Have any prior mlitary who attended EOT academy lateraled out of state?

Collapse

300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Have any prior mlitary who attended EOT academy lateraled out of state?

I'm a prior cop in the military who attended the EOT academy to receive my LEO cert in Florida. Have been a road deputy for the past 3 years and am looking to get out of Florida. I'm finding a lot of resistence from other states to accept my Florida certification and take me as a lateral even with 3 years experience simply because I didn't attend a full academy. I'm curious if others have encountered the same problem or found states willing to accept it.

I have attended a full corrections academy and later this week am going to talk with the director of our local academy and see what my options are. As much as I don't want to, the only option I can see is to attend a part time cross-over to acquire the needed academy hours. Any thoughts or suggestions?
    sigpic

Where are you looking to go?

Comment

Probably Pacific Northwest or New England. My current issues are with Alaska, my first choice, not wanting to accept it.
      sigpic

Comment

Your going to find that most places want to see a minimum of a 400 hour academy that covers certain areas.
        I had 20 years military and still went to the academy so until you go your movement is going to be limited.
        Due to the Juvenile bickering and annoying trolling committed by members of this forum I have started an igore list. If your name is listed below I can't see you.

CityCopDC, Fire Moose, Carbonfiberfoot, Damiansolomon

Comment

Since you may want to come up to New England...

I can tell you that Mass. is very strict. I know someone who was a sgt. in New Hampshire and still had to go through the full time mass. academy.

Comment

Originally posted by Airforcop View Post