300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Miami area departments

Thank you in advance for anyone that posts on this thread! I currently live in DC and I have four years of experience in law enforcement (and B.A. degree). Like many on this forum I'm searching for possible departments in the South Florida area, but in particular those agencies that are within commuting distance of Miami. I've been reading threads on multiple websites for months now and have a decent idea of what's out there. Regardless of if they are currently hiring, please tell me your perspective on which departments you would recommend and why. Large or small agencies are fine, as long as lateral movement into specialty assignments is possible. Thanks!
    Last edited by jml2007; 09-13-2008, 12:56 PM.

Miami-Dade Police Department. They'll be hiring again some time in Oct.

Endless opportunities. There's always over-time when you want it.

Comment

Originally posted by ERMDPD View Post
      Miami-Dade Police Department. They'll be hiring again some time in Oct.

Endless opportunities. There's always over-time when you want it.
      WORD!!! MDPD is the way to go...its taking a while but I think the reward of working with great police officers are what makes the department what it is....The Best.....like ERMDPD says O.T....its there.

Comment

Lol take it from R.L.3000... there's a reason he's betting waiting since April 2007 with them and hasn't gone some where else.

Comment

Thanks for the feedback. One drawback that I'm noticing with MDPD is that they are on 5-8s, which seems pretty rare in South Florida with most departments on 4-10s.

I'm reading good things about Hollywood PD, any thoughts?

Again, thanks for your insight!

Comment

Hollywood is an excellent dept, but I wouldn't exactly call it commuting distance to Miami. Depending where in "Miami" you are referring, it would be around 45min- to over an hour to get to Hollywood.