300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• FHP, Have questions !

Hello, my name is Michael Ruiz. I'm 17. I currently live in Orlando Florida. Im in my first year of college. I'm majoring Computer Science. What i'm planning on doing is, joining the Florida Highway Patrol.

Now, what i'm thinking of doing is 5 months before I get my AA in Computer Science, begin the application process & hopefully get accepted to attend the academy. Now if accepted, I plan to pass the academy & all the other needed tests and begin working for the Florida Highway Patrol.

Then while working for the Highway Patrol, take 1-2 classes to work my way towards my bachelors degree in computer science & using the tuition plan they offer.

Reason I want to do it this way instead of just go straight for my bachelors is in the future, I think I want to go federal, and I think it would be smarter to get my degree and build field experience at the same time.

I still have a year and a half to figure all this out anyway.

Also, your wondering why i'm majoring in computer science? Well its a great degree to have, especially since now, we use computers for almost everything. Having knowledge with computers I think is a great benefit to any trooper/officer. Especially if in the future, they plan to go federal, which I am considering, but not in a rush to decide.

Also, I know the risks, I know the pay involved with this career. Im not joining Law Enforcement to get rich, but to do something that I love, and enjoy. I am really deeply serious about getting myself into this career.
    Last edited by mruiz46; 09-09-2008, 10:47 PM.

A lot of people get their degrees while employeed with a law enforcement agency. Seems like you have a good plan for your future.

Comment

Thank you

Also, what im saying can be done then right? Im not being misslead by text or missunderstanding?

Comment