Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• FHP Chances?

Hello ladies and gents,

I'm currently thinking of switching careers into law enforcement. I'm 34yo, I have no criminal background whatsoever, no drug use, I have a bachelors degree in public administration and over 15 year work experience. I know this might sound like a cliche or tacky, however, I want to give back to my beloved state, and thus seriously thinking becoming an FHP trooper. I know, I've heard the horror stories, low morale, pay sucks, etc... however, this is no different than corporate America, I'm definitely not in it for the money, as I will make more money in the private sector, I just want to make a difference, and thus have my heart set on the FHP. The only blemish on my record is my bankruptcy, my wife and I, had to file for bankruptcy several years ago, we filed for Chapter 7 reorganization, whereby we had to pay back the debt, albeit, less than what it originally was of course. Needless to say, we did it, we paid it all back, however, the bankruptcy is still in my record. Having said this, should I apply to the FHP? I certainly don't want to waste their time, but my heart is made up and would love to have the opportunity to become a trooper. Do you think is possible? Giving by credit history. Thank you all, and God bless.

Go for it! Knowing the low-pay and what your getting yourself into... If you have your mind set to it, do it. Just make sure you can live with what you make with them.

Comment

Originally posted by ERMDPD View Post
      Go for it! Knowing the low-pay and what your getting yourself into... If you have your mind set to it, do it. Just make sure you can live with what you make with them.
      Thanks ERMDPD, my wife and have talked about it, and have made financial planning. That bankruptcy gave us a real lesson. We are now smarter with our finances. Again thanks for your reply and words of encouragement. Be safe out there.

Comment