300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Frustrated

I swear, the job market for police officers in Florida sucks. I am keeping the names of the departments hidden.

I graduated from the police academy down here in February. I put my application into s local department. I did well on everything. I have a clean background, I did excellent on the PT exam, passed the Oral Board, passed the CVSA, and made it through the interview with the Chiefs. After I did the interview, the recruiting officer told me that she would call me in a day or two to let me know if they wanted to offer me a job. Well, 2 weeks go by without a word from her. So, I tried calling her and every time I do I get her voice mail. Finally, she calls me back and says they want to offer me a job as a Reserve Officer. I told her no, because I didn't apply for that and that I was getting married soon and needed a full time position. She said okay, let me talk to the Chiefs again and that she would call me in a day again. Yeah right. Another 2 weeks go by before she calls me. And she says that they want to offer me a full time position! Woohoo! She tells me that she will call next week to set up my orientation. Well, 3 weeks go by without a word. I finally get a hold of her. She tells me that they don't know if they can give me a job because the city council won't approve the money. She says she will call me in 2 weeks. Yet again, nothing from her.So, I start calling, and yet again all I get is her voicemail. Then, I get a letter in the mail saying that they had filled the position with another candidate. ( Which is not true, my best friend who went through the academy with me works there and said they didn't hire anybody new).