300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help

Are there any L.E.O's from Ct. that could answer a couple of questions I have? I am currently an Officer in Florida and have been thinking about moving the family back up to Ct. I have heard good and bad about the way L.E. works up there. Ive heard that its quite liberal up there. But the pay is much, much better. If anyone has any advise, or suggestions please let me know.
    Chris

Well.. First question is, which part of CT? That right there makes a huge difference in what you can afford as opposed to what you get paid?

Right now Fairfield county Norwalk and Stamford are probably the two best paying departments in the state (when you factor in overtime), but the base isn't as great as you might think. Right now top pay in Norwalk is $64,000, which when you consider the price of a decent house in that area is just below $500,000, it just isn't that much money.

its also VERY liberal up here. That drives pretty much everything you do, from patrol to specialized units, liability is driven down your throat to the point of excess. That ends up driving cops to focus more on the OT they can earn from ditch jobs and how they can scam the city they work in out of more time/money then the most important factor which is being a cop. It can be very disheartening to hear a person you are riding with say that they don't want to jump out on some dudes who you know are in a gang or are dealing because they are afraid that their may be a fight, which may inhibit the amount of OT they can earn.

CT also has a lot of really ****ty towns/cities where they try to hide the crime, but its really a festering hole that never heals. Bridgeport, Stamford, Norwalk, New Haven, Hartford, Waterbury, Etc are terrible towns, but you would never think it because everyone just assumes CT is well, CT. Lilly white and rich.