Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Lakewood PD

Hi all,

I'm out of state but am looking at departments in the Denver area. I did complete a search but the results were somewhat dated. Are any lakewood agents on here? Just wondering about culture, how laterals are treated, good/bad of working there etc...

Good: One of the higher paying agencies, bu not the highest.
    Bad: They require laterals to attend their academy, and you have to call yourself “Agent”.

Seriously, considered a pretty good department but occasionally has problems playing with others.
    "I am a Soldier. I fight where I'm told and I win where I fight." -- GEN George S. Patton, Jr.

"With a brother on my left and a sister on my right, we face…. We face what no one should face. We face, so no one else would face. We are in the face of Death." -- Holli Peet

Comment

Did Lakewood chief come from San Diego area? At my first dept corporals were called agents because my chief would copy most of what San Diego was doing and San Diego called them agents. Later we finally went to corporals I believe it was because SD stopped using the term agent.

Comment

Years ago, I recall the the Lakewood Chief was from somewhere in California, but I don't remember where. An instructor at the academy was from Lakewood PD. My understanding was that there was a belief that by requiring 4-year degrees and calling officers agents, the department would be more (or appear more?) "professional" and attract better applicants.

Comment

Originally posted by jd950 View Post
          Years ago, I recall the the Lakewood Chief was from somewhere in California, but I don't remember where. An instructor at the academy was from Lakewood PD. My understanding was that there was a belief that by requiring 4-year degrees and calling officers agents, the department would be more (or appear more?) "professional" and attract better applicants.