300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Computer/Digital Forensics questions

I currently work for a large corporation doing Network and Host Intrusion Detection and Intrusion Prevention with a little bit of Digital Forensics thrown in (if I'm lucky). I am not in LE, I have not played one on TV, nor did I stay at a Holiday Inn Express last night, but I've really been turned on by this whole C/D Forensics thing and would like to take it to another level and actually HELP people rather than dealing with faceless big corporations. From what I've gathered there may be a little bit of this going on within local PDs, but I'm curious if it's something that happens on a regular basis. Is there a specific team within any of your local departments that perform these types of duties?

I'm pretty new to the field and am looking for someone that could be a possible mentor because I'm much more "hands on" than a book learner. I learned a long time ago that the best way to learn is to have someone good that can teach you. Books can get me the general principals, but without having a knowledgable person available to answer questions, I can only go so far.

So, in a nut shell, Do any local depts. (city or county) have a Digital Forensics team, and if so, would anyone be willing to talk with me via email/phone and maybe help me out? I'm asking here because I'm possibly looking to get away from my current position and into LE.

Thanks,
    Jason

I know CSPD has a few guys that exclusively do "computer stuff". The one guy in it that I know was a patrol officer for YEARS before getting into it.

Try contacting the larger agencies (Denver, DCSO, Aurora etc...) and speaking with them directly. It is a very specialized LE job, not very many do it, or know anything about it.

I thought he mentioned that there are non-sworn guys working in that division (task force) as well....but don't quote me on that. I'm not sure what the civilians make either.

Comment