NEW Welcome Ad

Collapse

Leader

Collapse

Chances on getting on with a local department?

Collapse

300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • silvas006
    Forum Member
    • Aug 2017

Chances on getting on with a local department?

So my main goal in the future is to work for the secret service or the FBI, but I feel that my best chance to building my resume is working with a local department first. I have a Bachelors from CU Boulder and I am currently in graduate school at Regis University. I have worked an office job for the last 2 years since I graduated with my undergrad. Ive done a couple of ride alongs with Lakewood and Denver but I have not volunteered or interned at any department. I heard that majority of departments take ex military or if you have your law enforcement certificate. What are my chances?
  • L-1
    • Jun 2004

Crystal ball says, what were you civil service scores and how high did you place on the hiring lists for the agencies you applied with?
    Going too far is half the pleasure of not getting anywhere

Comment

• FrontRangeCop
      Sworn Officer
      • Sep 2016

Not sure what your BA is in, but if it's something useful (eg accounting, finance, criminal justice, STEM) and you have a clean-ish background nothing should stop you from entering the Secret Service or FBI. Thats assuming you can pass the physical fitness and psychological as well.