Leader

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Getting up and moving to Colorado. Need some advice.

Collapse

300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Getting up and moving to Colorado. Need some advice.

I am currently a law enforcement officer in Indiana and am not happy with the department and looking for a change. My girlfriend and I have talked about moving to the Denver area and getting closer to my family.

I have gotten to the point where I am just going to get up and move once taxes are back next year. I will be getting a job in any field until I can get back into law enforcement.

Is it a bad idea to get out of law enforcement until I get a job out there or will in not matter in the hiring process?

Should I challenge the post and get certified before moving? I believe the POST Cert last 6 months. Will this be an advantage?

Another thing I am worried about is finding a job I will enjoy until I can get back in law enforcement.

I guess I am just looking for some words of encouragement. Thronton just emailed me saying I can come out in test but require me to fly out 4 times. I can not take off that much work and I am sure most departments will require the same.

Guess I just need to grow a pair of balls and go. Pay where I am at now is in the mid 30k.

Never run FROM something, run TO something.

I'd get my POST challenge handled, and get accepted by a department before I moved.

If you want to live in the Denver Metro area there's a lot of competition for those agencies. That's what everyone else wants, too.

Rural agencies tend to have higher turnover and be constantly accepting apps:

Park County, Garfield County, Summit County all accept apps more or less continually. So do many other rural counties.

Even if you don't want to stay there forever, applying to one of those agencies might get your foot in the door and able to move to a metro agency in a year or two.