300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Sovereign Citizen...

I am a part-time tow truck driver and was called by the CSP to come and impound a vehicle because the driver didn't have registration, insurance or even a valid driver's license.

When the Sergeant asked why she didn't have these items, she handed him a piece of paper to read that cited case law as to why she can't be pulled over or ticketed or have her vehicle impounded..

He read the first couple of words and much to her dismay, handed it back to her so he could continue to write her up...

On the ride back to town, she advised me that not only will the ticket not hold up when she appeals it, but the "rookie" Sergeant will get fined, lose his job and possibly spend a year in jail.

She advised me that I would, more than likely, be called in as a witness when she takes this thing to court. I told her that I didn't hear or see anything and besides that... I am in the final stages of hopefully being accepted into the CSP Academy and I wouldn't be a very helpful candidate to call to the stand.

I also helped her to understand that the "rookie" Sergeant is a 25 year veteran of the CSP... She wasn't impressed :-)

Anyone else have to deal with a situation like this as a LEO?
    HONOR ~ DUTY ~ RESPECT

We've had a couple of folks brought into the jail here in Routt County in the past year that have made the same claims. Both were very stubborn and insisted that their civil rights were being violated, and that local law enforcement had no authority to detain them as a sovereign citizen. The courts did not acknowledge their binders full of documents as legal proof of registration or insurance. Both eventually reached agreements with the courts and DA's office, and did not bring their cases to trial. None of the local departments have seen negative repercussions from their actions.

Comment