Out of State Lateral Transfer

300x250 Mobile

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Out of State Lateral Transfer

Good Day All,

I am a Certified Officer for the State of Oklahoma and have been for over 10 years. I have family in the Great State of Colorado and in the future would like to move there. Can anyone tell me, explain, or point me in the right direction as far as if Colorado does certification by reciprocity? Also what departments, both Local and S.O., accept Laterals? How hard is it to lateral transfer from another state? Any help would be helpful and greatly appreciated. Also if anyone is from Weld or Larimer Counties or serves in those counites at the Local or S.O. level that is where I am hopefully wanting to move.

Thanks all and be safe.

a GOOGLE search of the term
    colorado p.o.s.t requirements....................

in part.......

Persons who are currently serving as peace officers in other States, or with the federal government (other than the armed forces) may be able to receive certification without completing new basic training. The other jurisdiction must have minimum law enforcement training standards, and the applicant must have successfully completed the basic law enforcement training required by that state or federal jurisdiction.

If the applicant completed the training more than three years earlier, then he or she must have served as a peace officer for at least six months in that jurisdiction, during the three years prior to application. If the applicant meets these prerequisites, he or she must comply with requirements (1) and (2) above, successfully complete approved skills training or skills testing, and pass the certification examination.

Contact Information:

Colorado P.O.S.T

1525 Sherman St., 6th Floor

Denver, Colorado 80203

(303) 866 - 5692

FAX: (303) 866 - 5671

Weld County SO

Greeley Police Department