NEW Welcome Ad

Collapse

Leader

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Out of state retired officer carrying under LEOSA while traveling through California?

Collapse

300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Out of state retired officer carrying under LEOSA while traveling through California?

I am a qualified retired police officer living in Texas, and I have a road trip coming up that will take me through Texas, New Mexico, Arizona, and California, on my way to Mexico for the Baja 1000 race next month.

I've already made arrangements to locker my pistol with the San Ysidro CBP office before crossing the border into Mexico.

I've tried to do a little reading on this, but I'd appreciate input on carrying under LEOSA as a qualified retired police officer (926C), as I travel through California on my way there and back.

I'm planning to bring my Gen 2 Glock 17. I don't know if it's on the California "list", but it's a model that has no under-barrel rail, if that matters.

I'm planning to bring a couple of 10-round mags. If I understand correctly, I can no longer carry standard-capacity mags over 10 rounds in California, because I'm retired.

And I'm planning to bring hollow-point ammo. If I understand correctly, there is no prohibition on that in California.

Any corrections to that? Anything else I should know?

Your gun is good. Ammo is good. If you decide to bring high cap mags, 99% chance it will NOT be a problem.

​​​​​​Professional courtesy still exists here. As long as you're not doing anything dumb, getting drunk in bars, driving like an *******, flashing your piece during a road rage incident, you'll be fine. If you get stopped let the cop know what's up and you're retired.