300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What would you do?

I recently had an oral interview with a local agency for a sworn position. Most of the questions were standard interview and scenario questions that did not surprise me. However, one question in particular caught me off guard:

Prioritize the following calls to respond to, which happen simultaneously and are of equal distance from your current location:
    1) An officer needs help call (10-33/ 11-99 shots fired)
    2) A drowning baby in a swimming pool.
    3) A residential burglary in progress.

Personally, the above order is how I prioritized the calls. In a nutshell, I articulated the following:
    1) This call is urgent, and my partner is likely facing a threat that requires deadly force to be neutralized-- As a peace officer, I have that capability.
    2) While this call is also urgent, other first responder resources (fire/EMS) are just as, or even better, qualified and equipped to attend to this call. I can request that fire/EMS is dispatched to this location.
    3) This call is urgent, but is clearly not as urgent as the two above. The suspect may be gone by the time I arrive at the scene.

I am not looking for approval here. I am legitimately curious as to how other (more experienced) officers would respond to this question. I asked numerous colleagues-- to my surprise, the older officers ranked the drowning baby call #1, while the younger officers prioritized the help call as #1.

Your thoughts?
    Last edited by icu721; 10-06-2020, 10:08 PM.

The 1033/1199 codes mean something very different to me. Those codes would not illicit an emergency response. An officers needs help, shots fired does illicit an emergency response. They gave you those codes or you added them to generate a specific response?