300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Lateral from Florida to SoCal

Hey guys! I need a little advice and have a few questions.

My fiancé has moved to the San Diego area for her job and I am looking into getting out there ASAP.

I am a lateral from Florida (Florida Highway Patrol), currently still working in Florida. I have 5 years experience, with the last year being a traffic homicide investigator. I have tons of certifications and training, was a FTO while I was working patrol and I am currently on our SWAT team. I also have my bachelor’s degree in criminal justice and a minor in psychology.

I am currently waiting for my department to get me my training records, so I can submit my application for my waiver in California.

While I wait, I am currently researching departments close to San Diego.

1. I am looking at SDPD, Chula Vista PD, Coronado PD and SDSO right now as prospective departments that accept laterals with waivers. Any opinions on these departments? I’m leaning towards the larger departments, due to the opportunity for career advancement.

2. My understanding of the waiver process is that it has two options. Take the written exam and skills test or take the 136 hour requalification course. Both are one chance only to pass or you have to complete a full academy again? What’s the cost of the 136 hour course? Which option do you guys recommend?

Any advice for an east coaster moving to the west coast?

All good agencies IMO. Look at Carlsbad, Escondido and Oceanside too. Coronado is probably the smallest of them all and is in the high rent district, so most of your calls will be noise complaints coming from people with $2 million dollar homes.

Not sure about the waiver process, but two guys in my academy who were hired by SDPD were both full time officers in other states and SDPD made them go through the entire 26 week academy again, but they did get hired at a higher pay rate.