Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• NC LEO to CA bay area

Hey folks,

Im a current city cop in NC with 4 years of sworn experience. The wife may have a promotion and move with her company to the Bay Area (Palo Alto, specifically) in the next 6 months or so. With that, I am now looking at suggestions for Bay Area departments, basically anything within the San Mateo county, SF area.

My background:

-Currently 4 years sworn with municipal PD in NC
    -5.5 yrs former active service with Marines with honorable discharge
    -40 credit hours of college

I was stationed in SoCal when I was in the service and am familiar with that area (San Diego, LA, and as far north as Bakersfield) so California itself is nothing new to me, but I'm new to anything north of the areas above.

Also, best areas to live that you recommend considering that hub for my wife in the Palo Alto? Any particular municipalities are better and worth the commute?

Any input is appreciated. Thanks.
    "There's no such thing as a bad beer.....its only less awesome beer...."

"Liberalism is a mental disorder" - Michael Savage

$900k for a House, average. Rent is $2-6k, average. Your wife better be making triple digits, and you will need to commute, possibly 1-2 hours each way, if not more.
    Now go home and get your shine box!

Comment

Okay, that was a generic Google response! We already know the cost of living, housing market - the liberal politics, etc etc.

Not worried about the $, we already know what comes with the territory financially and wouldnt consider the jump otherwise. Just looking for answers to my questions - what are good agencies? What are good neighborhoods in the $5k/mo rent range? Not looking to buy a home right away.

We dont have and dont want kids. Just the two of us and a 4 leg mut.

Essentially, what would you tell a best friend or family member in the same situation knowing that they are coming over?