300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Current military looking to go LE in SoCal

I’m currently active duty and ETS from military in December. I have a combat arms mos and will have 3 years of service by December. I don’t hold a degree but smart enough to pass a written exam.
    Is military experience a big plus? And if so, what agencies favor military? When should I start applying? (Considering the fact that I’m stationed in NY until Dec). Also I’m considering going reserve military once I’m out would that potentially be a problem if an agency is looking to hire me ?
    If anyone has any insight on going from military to police (or anything in general) it would greatly be appreciated. TIA

I went military to police so I'll answer your questions.

Military experience is a big plus. Pretty much any agency prefers military experience, so take your pick. I'd start applying now if you are done with enlistment in December. Police hiring can take on average 6 months to a year, sometimes more depending on the agency (CHP takes their time hiring).

You are definitely going to need to be prepared to fly out from New York at least two to three times for testing.

Being in the reserves is fine, but just know that your service in the reserves could hinder some opportunities at whatever agency you apply to. The fact you are in the reserves will NOT hinder your hire ability. However, some special assignments require on call hours, odd shifts and work hours. So juggling your reserve time and hours can produce conflicts.

Anyway, the shift from the service to police was easy for me and it is a lot like being in the military. So you should do fine.

Comment