300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I Recently Recertified My Basic Post Certificate

I Graduated From A Cal. Post Certified Academy In 1995 But Do To Being Reactivated In The Military It Had Lapsed. I Just Recertified It Thru Orange County Sheriffs Department. Is Their Anyone Out Their That Is Aware Of A Department In California That Would Either Consider Me A Lateral Or A Department That Would Not Require Me To Attend Another Academy??

It's poor form to post your questions two and three times on the same forum.

Answer? Countless departments will accept a POST waiver. Start hitting the websites and reading up.
    Last edited by hbliam; 04-21-2007, 05:38 PM.

Comment

Cross-poster, I too re-certified my Advanced POST through OCSD. My applications were accepted as a lateral for each of the handful of OC agencies I applied with. Only one would not consider me a lateral. I nearly completed the process with two OC agencies, but got hired on with a third instead.

FWIW, that third agency did not want to accept me as a lateral in the final stages of the process, but my persuasiveness won the day.

PM me if you want the specific agencies.

PS--Which academy did you go through in 1995. There's a night-and-day perception of dichotomy between an academy like OCSD and one like LAPD or Golden West. Not saying it's right or wrong, just simply saying that is my observation.

PPS-- Even if you aren't taken as a lateral, there are a bunch of agencies (I can think of Santa Ana and Anaheim off the top of my pointed head) that hire "academy graduates" and their recruitment bulletins state as much.

EDJ
      Last edited by ElDiabloJoe; 04-21-2007, 07:43 PM.
      "It's a game of cat and mouse. It's a game of hide and seek. Albeit games with deadly consequences. Like most games-the better you know the rules, the more likely you are to win."

Comment