300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Career transition advice request from Ventura County agencies

Good day to you all. I’m an accountant in my mid 30s. I am considering transitioning to law enforcement. Ideally, I think I would enjoy investigating financial crimes as a detective but am not sure how long the process would take. I am considering VCSD & VPD. Can any officers give me guidance on how long it would take to get to this point and whether my background would make me a good candidate? Am I too old? I also have an MBA—would this help me at all? In my case, which agency would be better (especially due to the years in custody requirement for VCSD)?

Thank you for your time and God bless.
    Last edited by vcexec; 10-08-2017, 05:12 PM.

You are definitely not too old. While the median age in any academy class tends to be mid-to late 20s, you will find plenty of people joining at your age. I had two people in my class a few years ago who were in their late 40s. Having an MBA will definitely help you in the process. It's not the end all be all but it shows that you have advanced education and that you committed to the program and finished it.

There is no magic number as far as years go to reach an investigative-type position. Usually it's between 5-10 years (ball park figure and depending on the agency) but when looking at VCSD, you have to factor in custody time. I don't know how long theirs is before they go out to patrol.

I've said this before and I'll say it again. You can apply to all the agencies you want. But it's up to YOU to decide which agency will be better for you. Go on ride alongs and ask some questions. Get a feel for the agencies you're interested in and figure out which one seems more compatible to you. Based on the info you've provided, on paper you seem mature due to your age and education/work experience so don't worry about that.

Comment

• vcexec
      vcexec commented
      Editing a comment