300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Taking POST Recertification Course w/o 3-year break in service

I graduated from a California POST Basic Academy in 2009 and was hired as a Level I Reserve Officer with a California POST agency in 2012. I've recently begun applying to departments for a full time position as an Academy Graduate (since my Academy Certificate is still valid as long as I continue to meet my monthly Reserve commitment and CPT training).

But as of yet, I've been unable to find a department willing to hire me. Either I don't make it past the Oral Boards; or when I do pass the oral, they tell me "Thank you for you interest but we have decided not proceed with you into backgrounds. Good luck to you."

They never tell me the reason why I was not chosen. And since I have nothing in my background that would disqualify me (since I'm currently serving as a peace officer), I'm left to guess the reason why I was passed over.

Perhaps they keep finding other candidates more attractive than me; or they prefer green recruits fresh out of the academy that they feel they can coach more easily (as opposed to someone like me who they perhaps believe might be salty and have a set way of doing things).

And before anyone asks, no I don't have the option of lateral transfer to a full time position in my current department. They don't have any mechanism for reserves to transfer to full time, so I can't lateral transfer. And they don't accept external academy certificates because they have their own in-house academy, so I can't apply as an academy graduate. To become a full time officer at the department I'm currently working, I would have to quit the reserves and apply as an entry level and do their entire 8-month academy.

So here's my question. Do I have the option of voluntarily taking the POST Recertification Course even though I have not had a 3-year break in service?