300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Question for Any SoCal LEO's

I'm currently a police officer on the East Coast, thinking of resigning from my current position and relocating to the LA/Orange County area in late February 2006. The wife has a good job offer and we'll be closer to family.

Just wondering what the odds are of my obtaining a job within a reasonable amount of time once I'm there. I've got 7 years on the job right now and have a squeaky clean record. Would this be a consideration in expediting the process with a future employer? I've heard quite a few departments in that area are hard up for guys right now, so I'm guessing it's a good time to make the move? I am trying to familiarize myself with the hiring process. I know that I would likely have to enter most departments as a recruit and that's fine with me. Have been checking into LAPD, LASD, OCSD, etc.

Any help is appreciated!

If your looking at the BIG departments: LAPD, LASD, OCSD, .. then your looking at a bit longer of a hiring process. Your experience will certanily help but you will still be in a long line to get to the academy. If you are looking for other departments like Santa Ana, Irvine, Hunnington Beach, etc... your experience will be a great help, especially if you are able to expedite a POST cert in Cali for your LEO Cert on the east coast. If you r able to test for POST many smaller departments will take you that much quicker without having to go to a formal academy.

Comment

Here are all my academy notes so you can prep yourself on CA law. LASD is hiring in droves right now and they are doing it pretty quickly depending on who you are. If you want to get back out on the streets quicker then you might try SBSD or RCSD

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/CABasicPolice/