X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Am I doing this right?

Hello all LEO and prospective LEOs'

Background:
    I am currently a 27 year old student studying at a U.S. university in Tokyo, Japan. I also served in the U.S. Navy for 4 years with honerable discharge. At the end of current semester I will have 119 credits earned towards a B.S. in International Business (GPA 3.2). I have a Japanese wife and we have 2 children together.

Question(Critique my plan):
    I am seriously considering a career in Law Enforcement and through research concluded that the best opportunity for myself and my family would be to make this pursuit in California. After this semester I plan to fly out to California and begin the process by taking the POST test and applying to multiple departments and sheriffs. I know that getting hired can be a long process so I will simutaneously inquire to academies that allow self sponsorship. I have given Southern California consideration and favor the Orange County Sheriffs academy. From research, OCSA seems to be a premier school but I would like to know if anyone could tell me how some Northern Cali academies stand up OCSA, such as Alameda, Contra Costa, and South Bay Regional. It is important to note that I would be using my G.I. Bill, and with this my housing allowance makes me favor N. California (APPROX. $2500vs.$3100-3800). How realistic is it to continue job hunting while actually attending an academy? I feel like I am a marketable applicant and being an academy attendee would only further that. Any advice or mentoring would be greatly appreciated. Thank you all for your time.

I hope to continue this thread and maybe it will help others in similar situations.

When will you be done with your degree?

Comment

Thanks for joining the discussion just joe.