300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• CA Vehicle Code and Out Of State Vehicles

I'm a federal officer that just relocated to Northern CA. While under PC 830 my agency could enforce state laws through the state courts after taking an 832 class, my agency at this point simply uses our federal authority. Under our federal authority we can adopt all state traffic laws into federal courts.

My question comes to the CA Vehicle Code and out-of-state vehicles. What offenses does the CA VC not apply to out of state vehicles?

I know the CA tint law wouldn't apply. However I know of states where officers can't cite out of state vehicles/drivers for things like expired registration, expired license, etc.

Thanks for any help.

You can stop for any violation on any vehicle, regardless of what the license plate says. Now would you issue a citation to a visitor from AZ who has tinted front windows? You could, but it isn't within the spirit of the law.

And according to CA law, if someone is a resident of this State, they must register their cars with the CA DMV (with a few exceptions) if the car remains in CA. So if you've got a driver who's car is registered in Idaho but hasn't lived in Idaho for 6 months and plans to live in CA permanently, you could probably cite for tinted windows/reg/etc.

Comment

Generally a transiting vehicle must comply with the respective states traffic laws; however it is accepted that things such as tint violations are not usually enforced unless the vehicle becomes regularly domiciled and/or in in the state you are enforcing for.

I would add that you should consult with your agency legal advisor and the Magistrate Court liaison.
      Originally posted by SSD