Out of State Lateral

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Out of State Lateral

My wife and I are considering moving to the LA area. I have been a police officer for over 15 years. The last 12 for a 600 member department.

In general, do departments in CA hire out of state laterals? I see that departments require you to be CA POST certified, but do they have a education/experience waiver for out of state candidates?

What are the thoughts/opinions on departments like Santa Ana, Irvine, Huntington Beach, Orange County, and other departments South of LA. Are there any departments to stay away from?

Please PM if you feel more comfortable.

Originally posted by AR-15 View Post
    My wife and I are considering moving to the LA area. I have been a police officer for over 15 years. The last 12 for a 600 member department.

In general, do departments in CA hire out of state laterals? I see that departments require you to be CA POST certified, but do they have a education/experience waiver for out of state candidates?

What are the thoughts/opinions on departments like Santa Ana, Irvine, Huntington Beach, Orange County, and other departments South of LA. Are there any departments to stay away from?

Please PM if you feel more comfortable.
    Here is a post from last week about the same topic.

http://forums.officer.com/t184522/

To answer your question, California does have a POST waiver process. You can contact CA Post to get the info, but basically they take your current training and compare it to our State mandated training and tell you if you qualify to take the exam or if you need additional training in certain areas.

Santa Ana is a good dept and very selective, pay is good for the area. Irvine I don't know much about the dept, but the city is upper middle class and very low crime.

Oh, and you will not be able to bring your AR-15 here, unfortunately.
    Last edited by Reservetobe; 02-20-2013, 09:17 PM.

Comment