300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• California may become a Shall Issue CCW state

I read on the Front Sight web page that there is gonna be a petition to put a proposition on the ballot making California a Shall Issue CCW state. I think it's a good idea and may help lower our crime rate. Then again, I can see the argument against it as some fools might go overboard with the 417's for minor things. I'm gonna sign it and if it makes it to the ballot, I'll vote for it. What do you guys think?
    Yup let's do it so we can keep our rights and possibly lower the crime rate
    84.62%
    Nope, h*** no, not a good idea
    15.38%
    God made perfect cops.......The rest he put in cars.

I did my first Master's thesis on the impact on violent crime after implementation of shall-issue laws in states, and in every single case, violent crime went down (especially Florida, where the drop was dramatic), while less than 1/10th of 1% of the issued permits were later revoked or suspended due to criminal conduct.
    Talk sense to a fool, and he will call you foolish - Euripides

Comment

In order for this to be effective, there has to be a way for all law enforcement agencies to check if someone has a CCW.

Comment

Originally posted by SpecialBlend View Post
        In order for this to be effective, there has to be a way for all law enforcement agencies to check if someone has a CCW.
        In states that routinely issue Caw's there's generally a requirement for the possessor to advise LE that he has it upon contact. Failing to notify is unlawful and can result in suspension or revocation of the permit. When my dept responds to calls, dispatch runs the RP and known suspects for weapons registered. Im sure there can be a CLETS input for permits.
        God made perfect cops.......The rest he put in cars.

Comment

I doubt it will happen but we can hope.
          If guns cause crime, all of mine are defective.