300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Norcal POST academy - Socal agencies

I feel I'm at a critical juncture in my law enforcement job search and would appreciate some advice. I recently attended the Santa Rosa Junior College Police Academy Orientation up in Sonoma County. I'm a former Sonoma resident and currently live in LA. I would love to be an officer back in the North Bay, but realistically may have to look in LA. My question is.. If I get my POST Level 1 certificate at SRJC's academy, but find I must look to the LA area for a police career, would it be viewed differently than if I got it from an academy in socal? Would Los Angeles area agencies be hesitant if I were to have a POST certificate from a norcal college?

Thank you!
    -David

POST training is POST training- doesn't really matter what part of the state you get it from. It will get your foot in the door over someone who doesn't have a POST academy certificate.

We had applicants and laterals from San Fransisco State Univ PD, all the way down from Brawley PD, and everywhere in between.

You may run into a background investigator who isn't familiar with a certain ''out of region'' academy program, but more often than not, that won't deter a hiring authority from hiring you.
    Last edited by DCH; 06-05-2011, 01:24 AM.
    Timelines:

CBPO
    App: 2/12/09
    Geo: Revised; CA Long Beach, San Bernardino, L.A.
    Written: 2/20/09
    NOR: 3/2/09 (81 no vet pref.)
    TO: ? (reached my 37th bday 9/09)

IEA
    App: 5/5/09
    Geo: San Diego
    Written: 6/5/09 (75.8 no vet pref.)
    NOR: 7/20/09
    Faxed Documents: 7/7/09
    TO: 10/6/09
    Mailed Documents: 10/16/09
    Oral Interview: 12/02/09 Passed

BPA
    Geo: SW Border-El Centro/San Diego Area
    App: 8/17/10
    Written: 10/6 Passed (73 w/ no vet pref.)
    TO: 11/10/10 (pre emp forms due 11/22)

Comment