Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Job Openings in CA

Hey all,

First I just want to say thanks for these great forums--although I'm a newbie poster, I am a long-time lurker (who has read all the stickies, I promise!).

Anyway, I was hoping I could get some insight. I am very interested in a career in law enforcement, and I would ideally like to be in California (though if you know of other states that I might have more luck in, I'd consider them).

However, I am wondering what my chances are (and what I would have to do to strengthen those) in getting a job at any of the agencies in CA (in particular those serving major cities: LAPD, SJPD, etc.) and what the relevant time frame would be. I think I would look pretty good as a candidate, but am not sure. I consider myself to be very intelligent, extremely hardworking, and entirely trustworthy. I have had no encounters with the law (not even a parking ticket--ever), never smoked or used drugs, handle stress with no problems, and work well in teams--both as a member and a leader.

Lastly, does anyone have any insight on the "expedited" application processes that these departments might have? I would like to minimize the number of flights to CA I have to make. More generally though, how long would one expect the process to take to get to the academy?

Thanks!
    Last edited by 4CAlaw; 05-08-2010, 04:39 AM. Reason: shortened for easier reading

Originally posted by blargh
    There's calopps.org , can't say I've received too many emails from them in a while. However, many governments post job openings on the website. Not the best time to be looking for a job...

I should have dropped out of college and joined the LAPD back when they were giving out 10,000 dollar bonuses to new hires.
    Thanks! I've been checking out calopps with some frequency, but it seems the majority of job postings are for laterals or reserves.