Leader

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Yet another job opportunity didn't work out. Advice?

Collapse

300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Yet another job opportunity didn't work out. Advice?

Hi Guys,

I just got passed over for a position with my dream agency. I'm still on the eligibility list for future openings, but don't know when that will happen.

I was working as a sworn CO, and decided to self-sponsor myself through the academy last year with my college fund. During the academy I applied to
    30+ agencies and was only able to interview with 3 of them. I have made it to final interviews on all three but always get the #2 or #3 slot instead of the #1.

I know it is a tough market out there for jobs with all the budget cuts and all. Right now I'm in a bit of a situation I want some guidance on. When I graduated the academy, I moved back in with my parents while hunting down my law enforcement career. They said they would cover my expenses while I was on the hunt. It's been 5 months now since graduation and no job. I was also stupid in putting all my eggs in one basket with my dream agency because the process was going so well. Now, I'm back at square one again.

Where I live, there are no LEO positions available, and there wont be for quite some time. I'm looking at a minimum 600 mile round trip each time I go to test or interview anywhere. My parents are trying to convince me to stay with them and get a part time job and continue to test places while I am thinking I should move somewhere closer to where the LEO jobs are. Obviously, I would have to get a full time job to support me if this were the case. I don't see a problem picking up a job as loss prevention, armored truck, campus security, etc etc though because I have plenty of job experience and education. I also look at being back out on my own from the continued life experience perspective.

Anyway, any advice will be a great help to me.