300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Bay Area PD application questions.

Hi Everyone I am John. I have always wanted to become a police officer and feel that now is the time to actually apply.

I have a few questions though before I head out on my application journey.

If I have misdemeanor offenses from 8 years ago will this ruin my chances? I was a stupid adolescent at the time.

On the polygraph test, what will cause me to fail? Obviously I am going to be honest however I do now want to waste their time if there is something I already know from my past that might haunt me.

Prior drug use. Is there a time limit or is it where if you have done something before then you automatically kill your chances at ever becoming a police officer?

Vision. I wear glasses. Is this OK or do I need to see at a certain level to pass the test?

Thanks for the help. Its much appreciated.
    Last edited by John510; 01-16-2010, 12:18 AM.

I am by no means an expert but I can offer my opinion based on my own experiences.

Originally posted by John510 View Post
    Hi Everyone I am John. I have always wanted to become a police officer and feel that now is the time to actually apply.

I have a few questions though before I head out on my application journey.

If I have misdemeanor offenses from 8 years ago will this ruin my chances? I was a stupid adolescent at the time.
    I would say this depends on the offense and the specific agency. Many will tell you up front if you call and ask.

On the polygraph test, what will cause me to fail? I guess what Im asking is what are they NOT looking for? Obviously I am going to be honest however I do now want to waste their time if there is something I already know from my past that might haunt me.