300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• More on Fraud Investigator

First of all, thank you so much to everyone for all of the info provided in last fall’s thread on Fraud Investigator. I didn’t know anything about this specific career, and am very excited that the 4-year degree restrictions have been opened up. Hopefully this work is in my future.

Before I apply, I am in search of answers to the following questions (tried to get them all in a single post):

1. Can anyone provide info on how to determine “basis for eligibility” on the state application? “SROA, surplus, reemployment, reinstatement, transfer, or list eligible” are the options listed on the website. I’m not familiar with what this means, but am guessing that I would be considered “list eligible” if I meet the basic job requirements?
    2. I work in the private sector, but I’m a Sheriff’s Reserve; since I’m technically employed by the county, does this mean that I’m already a state employee?
    3. I noticed that there are several different fraud investigator positions on VPOS; would I be better off applying for all of them at once, or only applying for one at a time?
    4. What kind of questions will likely be on the civil service exam? Are they “how would you react to this”-type of questions?
    5. If accepted, what academy do you go through?
    6. Aside from all the incredibly helpful info contained in last fall’s thread on this, is there anything else that would be good to know about applying for this position?

Any and all feedback would be greatly appreciated.

-LAC_LE
    “Let him go, Lou. Someone driving that fast has no time for a ticket.”
    -Chief Wiggum

SROA stands for State Restriction of Appointments. In state service, the only people eligible for appointment to an SROA position are other state employees who:

1. Have already been laid off, or