300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New guy here with a few questions.

First, a little bit about me. I'm a 19yr old college student attending Cal State Fullerton in my second year. I've always had an interest in law enforcement and made it my goal to become a LEO once I chose my major, which is Criminal Justice.

Now I have a predicament. I am very eager to jump right into law enforcement. Is it necessary for me to complete my degree to increase my chances for hire? What if I finish my second year and attempted to go straight into a department? Would a kid like me stand a chance at all in being hired? How much longer should I wait before attempting to look for a job in law enforcement?

Here in California, a minimum education standard is set for the job. For the majority, that standard is a high school diploma or GED. A few departments may require an AA or 60 units of college, a few others may require a Bachelors degree or 120 units. You either meet the standard or you don't. Extra points are not awarded for education beyond the minimum standard, what your grades are, or what school you went to.
    Going too far is half the pleasure of not getting anywhere

Comment

Originally posted by L-1 View Post
      Here in California, a minimum education standard is set for the job. For the majority, that standard is a high school diploma or GED. A few departments may require an AA or 60 units of college, a few others may require a Bachelors degree or 120 units. You either meet the standard or you don't. Extra points are not awarded for education beyond the minimum standard, what your grades are, or what school you went to.
      I figured as much. However, completing 2-4 years of college would therefore expand my range of departments correct?

Comment

Originally posted by The Cable Guy View Post
        I figured as much. However, completing 2-4 years of college would therefore expand my range of departments correct?