300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• San Diego PD Police Service Officer I

Anyone in the area have anything good or bad to say about the Police Service Officer job with SDPD?

I am weighing some options, thinking about applying. My family and I are thinking of relocating to California. I currently work as a Police Service Tech (parking and traffic enforcement) officer and have found this is similar to what I do now. I have almost 8 years as a dispatcher before making the switch to an enforcement position. Dont really want to go back to being a dispatcher but would if I find the right place.

I am thinking about going to college first and maybe going into a police officer position, but I think I am a few years away from doing that as I need to get some things in order before applying. Should I wait and move and finish school and then just apply to be an officer, or look at relocating to the area, apply for this and if I am hired, would it help me into getting hired into a police agency in the area?
    Thomas - aka HUCK
    PST II - Police Service Tech II

SDPD is a very good PD in my opinion, since you are already doing that type of PSO job and like it, I think it would be a wise choice, get your foot in the door and apply for Police Officer down the road if you decide.

Just curious, where you work now do you take "cold crime" reports and traffic accident reports ?

Comment

PSO is a great stepping stone. The pay is on the low side though. Dispatching pays a lot more. Both are good jobs to have before coming an officer. You do have to go through the whole officer process first.

I worked my way through college as a dispatcher, it was a pain. It took me 8 years. I'm debt free though.

If being an officer is what you want to do, we are hiring like crazy for it. The dispatcher and PSO jobs take longer to get.

Comment

I've Had To Fill In For Dispatchers Before.........i Think I'd Take The Lower Pay Before I'd Do That Again