Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Moving to MO

Hey all,

I know this should probably be in the Employment section but I posted it here because I wanted people from Arkansas to see it.

I am moving from California to Missouri in May, to Lampe, about 30 min from Branson. The house we are moving to is about 2 miles from the MO/AR state line. I have been looking at Springdale, Eureka Springs, Fayettville, etc as departments.

1. The question I have is what the requirements in AR? Is there any type of state POST system? I can not really find any website for them. I have also noticed that some departments will hire you as an officer and you have a year to go through the Academy.

2. I am 23, but have been in law enforcement since 1998. I was a police explorer for 4.5 years, worked security for 2 years, and I am currently a Tribal Ranger (Tribal Police basically) on a Federal Indian Reservation. I have worked as a ranger for 3 years. I have a lot of useful knowledge and training I have picked up from my years. I am also going through a 64 hour California POST PC 832 course in April. It is the minimum training requirement in California for a Peace Officer, and everyone knows CA has some of the strictest requirements for Peace Officers. I have taken NIMS classes, as well as other training provided by my department.

3. Would a department or the state take my training as experience to use on the point system?

4. Also can anyone recommend some department in the area?

5..Also I know in some states, Sheriff's Departments are pretty much civil officers that run the courts and serve papers, they do not really serve as law enforcement, like respond to calls, and act as primary law enforcement in the county. Is AR like that? In CA Sheriff's Deputies are full officers and patrol any areas that are not incorporated, they respond to calls and do the courts also, but they tend not to serve papers or stuff like that very much.

Thank You all for any help.