300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Considering Scottsdale PD

I need some advice about applying at SPD.

First, the good about me:

-Steady, long term employment history

-Excellent driving record

-Excellent credit history

-No arrest record

-Physically fit

Now, the debatable:

-I'm 36

-My employment history is that of a bartender

-I've used my credit card to gamble online

And, the bad:

-Drug use--Pot coke, and exctasy, as recently as 2 years ago. Some excessive drinking.

I'm not proud of my drug abuse, or my drinking, for that matter. I am proud of being clean and sober, however, and Ifeel like I've gained perspective and maturity to the point where if I'm given the opportunity to serve as a police officer, I would feel blessed, and I would give 100% every minute of every day on the job. I'm smart, fit, articulate, clean cut and I have a good reputation. My question is two-fold: If I am forthright about my drug use during the initial interview, will i simply be DQ'd, and if so, is resorting to lying on the polygraph useless? I want the job, and feel like I can excel at it if given the chance. Is there anything particular to the Scottsdale hiring proccess that might allow some leeway as it pertains to drug related indiscretions? Simply put, is there any way around this? Thanks.