300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Airline to Police

Just wanted some honest thoughts. I am an airline pilot for a carrier here in the states. Things are looking up and getting ready to move onto the majors soon. I make a great living, currently in the mid 70’s and that will certainly more than double with the move to a major. However I can’t shake the feeling and desire I have always had to go into law enforcement.

My kids are older now so I don’t have them to worry about as much but I have to be realistic as wel with the financial side of things. What’s a realistic non-recruiter income level I could expect in the coming years? Is more pay given for advancement and if so how does that process work?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Depends where you work. The valley agencies start at low to mid 50’s. You will definitely get a lot of overtime or be able to work off duty assignments so you will make more than your base for sure. You definitely won’t be making what you would as a pilot especially moving to a major. You will have to start st the bottom with seniority of course. Crappier shifts, calls and last one to get a day off if others put in for the same day. Merit increases/COLA depend on the agency. My agency is getting a 2% COLA raise this year, but we haven’t had one in the last few years, however we have gotten 5% merit increases with a good performance review. You will get raises for specialty assignments and promotions to sergeant. The process is usually submitting a resume then interviewing. After that you are put on a ranking list. Some agencies have a night differential as well. In a nutshell, you can make a good living but it depends greatly on which agency you’re with.
    Last edited by BK4448; 05-12-2019, 01:34 AM.

Comment

Originally posted by BK4448 View Post