Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Phoenix PD

To my law enforcement brothers in Arizona:

I'm an officer in Tennessee (not enough time in to do a lateral though), looking to advance my career somewhere where politics don't run whether you get hired or not. Of course Phoenix seems to be place to try to get a job, when they are looking for 370 officers this year. But to those who know, how long does the process generally take? It says 3-5 months, but I know depts. that claim to only take a few weeks for the entire process, only to turn around and take 6 months.

Also, what are my chances of actually getting hired before making the trip? I am an officer, so I do have experience; my background is clean (not a felon, never once tried drugs, hell never even took a drink in my life).

I appreciate your responses in advance. Take care out there!

I tested with them a couple of years ago, and the impression I got was that if you passed all the steps you were in. I think they'll process you within 2-3 months.

Comment

It took me 3 months from the date of the written test up to conditional offer.

According to my classmates, out of towners only need three trips to AZ.

1st trip: written, fitness
      2nd trip: poly, psych, medical
      3rd trip: move in

Comment

Thanks for the input. Seems like they move along pretty quick for a large PD. Just one other question, are the Oral Boards difficult (just out of curiousity, since they mentioned something about essays?) or do they do most of applicant eliminations through the background checks?

Comment

Originally posted by wspd913
          Thanks for the input. Seems like they move along pretty quick for a large PD. Just one other question, are the Oral Boards difficult (just out of curiousity, since they mentioned something about essays?) or do they do most of applicant eliminations through the background checks?