Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Michigan LEO with questions on Mesa PD

Greetings from Michigan,
    I have some questions for those who have some time in with Mesa PD. I've been an officer in MI for 4 years and am thinking of getting out of this ice box due to my discontent with old man winter. I lived in Mesa for about 7 years when I was in grade school and enjoyed it there (still have some family there).
    For those who have experience with Mesa PD, is it generally a good agency to work for? Budget? Morale? Support of command, etc? Salary seems pretty solid (not sure about benefits) and it looks like there are a good amount of specialty units, which is very appealing. Their recruiting webpage outlines the 'out of state lateral' process pretty clearly, but do they tend to avoid out of state laterals for any particular reason? It's pretty sweet that they use part of your prior full time experience as credit towards specialty assignments. I'll be visiting Mesa during July and would like to ride for a shift (assuming ride a longs are permissible) to see what it's like.
    Anything else that would be good to know? I'm mostly concerned with hiring onto an agency where you can go out and do good, solid police work. Thanks for any input guys and gals, stay safe out there!
    Last edited by jbone36; 01-25-2015, 11:59 PM.
    I'm your Huckleberry

*Crickets* .... Please, please, not everyone answer all at once!
    I'm your Huckleberry

Comment

I have 3 friends in the Mesa PD, one being a Sgt who has been with Mesa for 14 years now. They all 3 love the force, and say morale is probably the highest there out of any PD in AZ at the very least. I did their testing this last weekend, and you can tell most of the officers are very proud to be working for Mesa. Mesa also has its own academy, which they like to tout as second to none. I am really hoping and pushing for a spot on with Mesa, they seem like an amazing force to work for.

Comment