300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Info Needed Please

I am looking for some info from some sworn LEO's in Arizona. I am a sworn Officer in NJ and with the economy here the way it is my department is next on the chopping block for lay offs with me possibly being one of the many getting the ax. So I'm considering my options of going out of state and possibly Arizona. If anyone has any info on departments that are taking laterals from out of state I would greatly appreciate it. Also if you can tell me what you like and don't like about working in AZ would be appreciated as well. Any info on retirement, pay, and benefits would be great also. Feel free to PM me if needed.

Sorry to hear about your situation brother. There are quite a few AZ agencies that were considering laying off people, and most are on a hiring freeze of sorts. Here's a link to our state POST page. When they were thinking about cutting cops' jobs here, AZ POST listed a few agencies that were willing to hire displaced officers. You might try those first.

http://www.azpost.state.az.us/DisplacementPage.htm

Times are tough - good luck.

PS - Retirement is 50% at 20 years with a 5% contribution from the officer each year. (this is up for debate - big time issue here in AZ at the moment)

Pay and benefits vary of course. Painting with a broad brush, agencies in the Phoenix metro area pay better than the smaller departments and sheriff's offices in other areas of the state. Pros and cons to both, of course.

Comment

Thanks a lot for the info brother I guess times are tough all over the country. I'll try looking at stated that are little colder also. Thanks again and stay safe.

Comment