300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Conditional offer...

OK,I know it sounds stupid,but what does this mean?? Does this mean I just have to pass my medical and I'm in? Does it mean I'm just getting started with my background investigation?? It's been a while since I started the process and I just signed my conditional offer. Does that mean I have much longer to wait?

For Phoenix PD, it means they are giving you an offer, and it is conditional upon you passing the medical, drug, and psych evals. You pass those and you get final offer and start date. The written, physical, and background should be done.

Comment

The term "conditional offer" is very disappointing. It leads people to believe that they've secured the job. In reality, it's the agency's way of finding out if you are REALLY interested in working for them prior to them expending funds to do the background investigation, medical and psych tests.

You will get the job based upon good results from the rest of the process. That's why it's "conditional".
      NRA Life Member

The police are the public and the public are the police; the police being only members of the public who are paid to give full time attention to duties which are incumbent on every citizen in the interests of community welfare and existence. - Sir Robert Peel

Every normal man must be tempted at times to spit on his hands, hoist the black flag, and begin to slit throats. - H. L. Mencken

Comment

Federal law (the Americans With Disabilities Act) prohibits an employer from making any medical inquiries of an applicant except in connection with a bona fide offer of employment. All other screening processes need to be successfully completed first before you can proceed to those areas. You usually get a letter saying you are offered employment subject to your passing those exams. Pass the medical and the psych and you are in. This is the conditional offer.