Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Best AL Depts. For out of Staters

Hey all,

I recently decided to pursue a career in law enforcement. I am nearly complete my associates in Criminal Justice, completely clean background, driving, and credit. I am a current Pennsylvania resident who is eager to relocate down south to either Georgia or Alabama. I am now in background phase for Savannah Metro Police and was wondering if there were any Police/Sheriffs in Alabama that had an "out of state friendly" time frame?

For example Savannah gives you the Physical, civil service test, oral board and polygraph over a 2-3 day window even if you're local. Are there any depts that process like this or similar to this in Alabama? Thanks in advance.

Why the desire to move down South?

Comment

My pops retired down to AL. Decatur actually.

Comment

Law enforcement in AL is very underpaid and have no union support/backing. Just keep those things in mind. Shelby County agencies are on the higher pay spectrum. I spent 5 years at the City of Enterprise in southeast Alabama just outside of Fort Rucker. Good agency to get your feet wet and learn the job.

Comment

Originally posted by diezl View Post
          My pops retired down to AL. Decatur actually.
          That's the area I am originally from. The county is Morgan county - and the sheriff (Sheriff Ana Franklin) is awesome. Pay is less than a lot of areas, but so is cost of living. Morgan County SO is very competitive in the salary range. If I ever decide to move back home, I will be begging for a job with MCSO.

Comment

gwinnett county police (right outside atlanta). always hiring, fast process, take home car, 700+ officers
            Perseverate In Pugna

Comment

Originally posted by diezl View Post
              Hey all,