300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Who is in charge?

This question comes up because I am a volunteer firefighter.

You have a vehicle crash with injuries and/or fire. Who is in charge of the scene, police or fire? Call it a TA (traffic accident), MVA (Motor Vehicle Accident), TC (Traffic collision), whatever.

There has been at least one case in Arizona where a Fire Captian was arrested because his fire truck was blocking a lane on the freeway (he was later un-arrested). On the fire side, we are taught to take the lane of the accident +1, to keep the firefighters safe. Our local Sheriff's Office and Department of Public Safety (highway patrol) don't have a problem, because we try to open the road as soon as possible. We work together. At a fatal ('963' on the radio), we stay to help with traffic control until DPS releases the scene.

So, what do you call it, and who is in charge?
    "A man who has nothing which he cares about more than he does about his personal safety is a miserable creature who has no chance of being free, unless made and kept so by the existing of better men than himself."
    John Stuart Mill

In our Incident Command System in CA we are taught the agency with primary investigative authority is in charge.
    Cowboys in town. Trouble expected.

Comment

Fire and EMS are in charge until victims have been removed from scene or fire put out. Police are there at that point to control traffic and maintain the basic integrity of the scene until they can take over and start the paperwork.

At no time will an officer try to order a fire or ems person around unless there is a safety issue the officer observes that perhaos the ems taff ia unaware of.

Treatment and Extrication of victims is first priority

Comment

crash scene and no one is under arrest
        the fire dept is in charge...

i second that emotion !

www.schackdaddy.com
        " if you talk in your sleep, don't mention my name....