300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What's your most obscure charge?

Not the made up ones (I used to threaten drunks that if they did not leave, they would be charged with "Mopery with intent to Gawk, and being in a public place without a permit." I sometimes added "Ugly in Public with a prior").

But what is the most obscure charge you ever placed against a person?

For example, I was a Customs officer, and while we had some really strange ones, I did arrest a guy smuggling Cactus ribs (the remains of dead cactus)for violation of CITES. (Convention on the International Traffic in Endangered Species). Cactus is the only plant covered.

I also charge a gal with "Illegal Importation of a Non-human Primate" - a monkey.

Last night, as a volunteer fire fighter, I was called to a scene where a lady was charged with "Illegal Towing". (Towed a big trailer with a small SUV - lost control, rolled the trailer, no one hurt.)

No fair unless you have actually charged someone with the crime.

Let the games begin!
    "A man who has nothing which he cares about more than he does about his personal safety is a miserable creature who has no chance of being free, unless made and kept so by the existing of better men than himself."
    John Stuart Mill

Fuel piracy. Arrrrrrrrr...
    It is not the critic who counts...

Comment

Great - were they wearing eye patches and brandishing swords?
      "A man who has nothing which he cares about more than he does about his personal safety is a miserable creature who has no chance of being free, unless made and kept so by the existing of better men than himself."
      John Stuart Mill

Comment