Leader

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Does your country have Citizen's Arrest?

Collapse

300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Does your country have Citizen's Arrest?

In most states in the US, a citizen can arrest a person for a felony commited in his/her presence, or (in some states), if they have reasonable cause to belive a crime has been comitted, and this person commited it.
    Can they do that in your countries?
    In particular, Canada?

As a Federal Officer, I could arrest for state crimes as a "citizens arrest under color of law", meaning I could display my badge, use cuffs, etc., yet it was still a citizens arrest.
    "A man who has nothing which he cares about more than he does about his personal safety is a miserable creature who has no chance of being free, unless made and kept so by the existing of better men than himself."
    John Stuart Mill

In England and Wales, we no longer have felonies. We have instead the "arrestable offence" (murder, offences carrying 5 years plus and certain specified offences which carry less than 5, such as going equipped to steal).

Any person may arrest without warrant anyone he has reasonable grounds for suspecting is committing or has committed such an offence. Officers can also arrest anyone who we have reasonable grounds to suspect are about to commit such an offence.
    I'm a little bit waayy, a little bit wooah, a little bit woosh, I'm a geezer.

Comment

Originally posted by Sleuth
      In most states in the US, a citizen can arrest a person for a felony commited in his/her presence, or (in some states), if they have reasonable cause to belive a crime has been comitted, and this person commited it.
      In Australia, more or less as you have stated above. However instead of Felony or Arrestable Offence, we use the term Indictable or Serious Indictable Offence.

Comment