300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• response time.

I am a Police Officer in Bridgeport, Connecticut, U.S.A. It is a crime ridden city of about 180,000. I got a little chuckle out of your response time of a couple of days to a week. I know that is how it has to be down under due to land mass, but we get complaints logged in against us if we dont show up within the hour for priority 2 calls. Intresting stuff
    G31

It's not just Down Under. I live in a sparsely populated area of Arizona. If I call 911, response time under 45 min. is considered excellent! In some parts of our county, not on the Indian Reservations, 2 hours is a good response. In Indian Country, it can be much longer. And these times are for days, when the deputies are on duty. Nights, add time for someone to get up and get dressed.
    "A man who has nothing which he cares about more than he does about his personal safety is a miserable creature who has no chance of being free, unless made and kept so by the existing of better men than himself."
    John Stuart Mill

Comment

What if you have suspect confronting you with a weapon and you call for the P.D. Does the response time speed up, or do you have to handle it on your own, till the P.D. shows up much later. Just interesting to see what procedure is out in the stixs compared to working in the getto.
      G31

Comment

The times I gave were for an 'expidited' response. The Sheriff's Dept is spread thin (40 deputies for a county (including the Indian Country) bigger than Rhode Island. We are expected to handle things until the SO arrives. And at least 2 deputies live "close" to me - there are areas where the nearest deputy lives 40 miles away.

Actually, the Indian Reservations have their own police forces - but they also have huge, uninhabited areas with long response times.