300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• gun control

Yes, I did a search for just this forum and surprisingly, did not find a thread devoted to this. If I missed it, I apologize.

I grew up in Canada and moved to the U.S only 5 years ago, so my first trip to a gun shop was pretty shocking to say the least. I'm now a cop here and this is my feeling: I don't believe citizens should be better armed than those who are paid to protect them.

That being said, I am not a liberal by any means. Most of my politics lean to the right but this is one of the exceptions. Now I am not against private gun ownership, it's just the type of gun that is allowed. I got joked on nonstop by both classmates and instructors in my academy for being anti-gun, although I thought I made myself clear (I'm sure part of that was just trying to have fun with me).

I simply don't understand why anyone needs an assault rifle for 'home defense' when a pistol/shotgun will do just fine. Evoking the 2nd Amendment doesn't seem right, because when it was written, I'm sure the writer had muskets in mind and government was a real threat. Saying that it is what keeps this land free doesn't seem reasonable, because I come from a free land where we cannot own guns (nor can UK citizens, also free). Saying it is to keep the government 'at bay' doesn't seem reasonable either nor does it address my argument: the TYPE of weapon is my problem, not weapon ownership per se.

That being said, I absolutely agree that it is the person behind the weapon who kills, not the weapon itself. But...making weapons readily available and accessible is what drives up a death toll. Yes, its easy to kill someone with a kitchen knife or a hammer, but it's much easier to kill someone in the heat of passion by grabbing a gun and pulling the trigger. How many drive bys are successful by means of a hammer?