300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Workout design

For pure strength training, being only 155 lbs., would my workout days be best spent on a "traditional" lifting routine (chest day, leg day, back day) or would it be better for me to lift everything 3x a week and just do big movements/compounds on those days and forget about the concentration work? If the latter, how would you structure it?

Thanks everyone

I've been a certified personal trainer for 10+ years, weighing in at 155 on my off seasons. I have always kept my workouts based on what my overall goal is. When Im trying to get stronger I will implement the traditional split muscle group routine. Right now I've geared my routines based on my job and focus on what my career entitles. Basically leaving 3 days of the week to strength training (chest/shoulders/tri,back/bicep,legs/glutes/calves) with light cardio of 15 minutes at the end and 2 days of the week to a cross fit style workout. Don't let your strength over power your ability to run faster without being out of breath.

Comment

Based on my experience working out since 1980, including 10 years of powerlifting competition, the answer is yes.

Either way will work well as long as you hit the weights hard, don't waste time socializing or resting too long in the gym and eat properly.
      Government is not the solution to our problem; government is the problem. - Ronald Reagan

I don't think It'll happen in the US because we don't trust our government. We are a country of skeptics, raised by skeptics, founded by skeptics. - Amaroq

Comment

• Columbus
        Columbus commented
        Editing a comment
        Appreciate the response, ateamer. It's been a few years since I've been on this site, pleasant surprise to see you're still kickin' around here.