300x250 Mobile

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Running program

anyone here follow the 10% rule running five days a week, starting at 1.50 miles. ?

I have been running for 3 years my goal is to be ready to be able to run five days a week at least 5 miles. Is that realistic. Im stuck in the 8's pace per mile i have been in high 7's (7:40-750)for up to two miles but would like to be in 7' CONSISTANTLY i have nike pegasus 164milea in them. Also flat feet . Calf tightness and shin splints are my BIGGEST problems. I try to run at least 3 miles somewhat hard with one interval workout (1.5 mile) and a long run for 1 hour u can get between 6-8 miles in that time. I dont know how some people can run 6 miles one day then 10 the next? Wtf. Imgoing to get some sneakers acis , brooks or saucony ( those lesser name brands maybe the key instead of nikes.

I'll tell ya this, when I was running in the Navy for a program in which I did not go all the way through, running was instrumentally the largest thing I did. And in sand. I ran into a lot of issues that have ironed themselves out during training, but were things no one had told me off the bat. My best recommendation first is to obviously get a proper fit by a running store who can track your gait and pace and place you into a good shoe style.

Nothing to knock Nikes - I know plenty of endurance runners who use Nikes and Adidas - but I know a lot more who subscribe to Newton, Asics, Brooks, Saucony, and etc. RoadRunnersports.com is the best place for sneakers that I have found price wise. sign up for their VIP program - if you dont like the shoes within 90 days - you may return them for an exchange.